Getting Angry

Anger is a normal human emotion.  But its one that i have never been that good at dealing with.  I’m just not an angry person, I would even go as far as saying that I find anger a bit embarrassing to witness.

This is odd considering I live in one of the angriest pasts of the country – I live in the centre of TOWIE country.  And if you have ever seen an episode you will understand that this part of Essex / East London is full of people who’s default setting is angry.  And its loud, f-bomb filled anger.  Get a parking space someone else wanted – angry, have the lights turn red as you pull up – angry, not get a parcel delivered on time – angry.

A perfect example was a few weeks ago on Mothers Day.  We had booked a large table for all of us to go to a local pub / bar for Mothers Day Sunday lunch.  The Pub was over-filled, to the extent that the bar area had been cleared and tables placed there.  But there was no more staff to deal with the extra tables.  When we had waited an hour, had not been given menus and had to go to the bar ourselves to get drinks as no one had come over to help us, It started to get silly.  When we eventually ordered, 2 starters came up wrong and 1 was inedible and my sisters Mother In-law sent it back. It was then nearly another hour before our main courses arrived – you try to keep 2 little people who are hungry entertained in a civilised manner in a packed restaurant!  When my dinner arrived it was horrible, the vegetables were solid and cold and the roast beef was stringy and horrid.  So I asked to see the manager.  When he came over I managed to say these few words….. ‘I am so unhappy’, what I got in return was a full-bared double barrelled unleash of TOWIE anger.  HIS oven had broken down, HIS reputation was on the line, What did I expect HIM to do.  It was full on, and at the moment I could have easily responded with anger to match his, but instead I looked him in the eye, lowered my voice and said needless, none of this was my families fault and we will not pay for this.

We walked away, and I did not get angry.

But it has made me think, what would it take for me to get angry.?

I have had hold of the shitty end of the stick for a long while now, but I have yet to express any anger.  And I suppose Im wondering if maybe the TOWIE lot have got it right?  Maybe I need to get in touch with my inner rage machine and really let loose on a red light somewhere outside Sugarhut?

Leave a comment